The Podcast Academy stated that its Board of Governors will give Maron the award, which “recognizes a podcast or individual for the compelling impact they’ve had on the industry.”

Maron and his producer Brendan McDonald will accept the award at the ceremony, which can stream stay on YouTube and Twitch from Los Angeles.

Maron and McDonald stated in an announcement: “It’s a genuine honor to be recognized by our peers as a major influence on the podcast medium. The show has evolved into what it is now through our persistence, creativity, discipline and curiosity. We’re grateful for this recognition and the freedom that podcasting affords us.”

“‘WTF with Marc Maron’ has been a trailblazer for the medium since its inception and represents what’s unique about the industry,” stated Chairman of the Podcast Academy, Donald Albright. “As co-creators, producers and owners of WTF, Marc and Brendan have served as global pioneers for podcasters big and small, both in front of and behind the mic. The Podcast Academy is humbled to honor WTF with the first-ever Governors Award.”

“WTF” has featured broad ranging interviews with over 1,200 company over the years, together with Stacey Abrams, Mel Brooks, Nicole Kidman, Sir Paul McCartney, Amy Poehler, Chris Rock, Jerry Seinfeld, Sarah Silverman and President Barack Obama, who got here to Maron’s storage to report.

The podcast premiered in September 2009 and has been downloaded greater than 600 million occasions.

This 12 months The Ambie Awards will spotlight 164 nominees throughout 23 classes.

Source link